Baby Watch: The First Goodbye

It’s a new chapter for Potter and Maggie. Today is the day they moved to their new home. I’m so happy for them, but I’m also sad to see them go. I’m going to miss them a great deal, but I know they’re going to be showered in love and affection by their new mommy.

When the babies all first started showing their markings, and we first started thinking of names for them all, I originally wanted to name them Harry and Minerva. Potter has a marking between her eyes that resembles a lightning bolt, and I had hoped she would be a boy so I could call her Harry. And Maggie is actually short for Minerva McGonagall — who happens to be played by Maggie Smith.

When Potter ended up being a girl, I wanted to keep the Harry Potter name in some way, to honor her lightning bolt marking, and Minerva seemed like a name that a new owner would either love or hate, so we kept it safe with Potter and Maggie. As it turns out though, they’re going to a new home with an owner as bold as I am, and she has decided to call them Harry and Minerva. I couldn’t be happier!

I’m sure these will not be the last pictures we see of these beautiful little girls.

Leave a Reply

